Hope Book Club, Ep 14: Historical, Small Town and Outback Fiction – Hope 103.2

Hope Book Club, Ep 14: Historical, Small Town and Outback Fiction

Natasha and Katrina have chosen some cracking books including a heartwarming small-town read, some tumultous monarchy fiction, and an Outback murder mystery...

Listen: Katrina Roe and Natasha Moore talk popular fiction in Episode 14 of Hope Book Club

By Katrina RoeFriday 30 Aug 2019Hope Book ClubCultureReading Time: 2 minutes

In this episode Natasha Moore and Katrina Roe have picked out some cracking fiction for you:

  • Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani
  • The Young Lion by Blanche D’Apulget
  • The Lost Man by Jane Harper
Big Stone Gap

Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani is a heart-warming small town story set around the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia – it’s also a New York Times bestseller, that’s been made into a movie.

If you loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, you’ll probably love this!

The Young Lion

Fans of Game of Thrones or Wolf Hall need to know about Australian author Blanche d’Alpuget, wife of the legendary and recently departed former Prime Minister Bob Hawke.

Her historical fiction series, Birth of the Plantagenets, tells the stories of King Henry II during his rise to power and his marriage to the French Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, and chancellor of England Thomas Becket and his falling out with the king.

Now The Lion’s Torment – the third book in this series – has just been released. It follows Henry, Eleanor and Becket in a tumultous era that includes one of history’s most scandalous and tragic murders.

The Lost Man

Katrina has devoured the latest offering from Australia’s new queen of crime fiction, Jane Harper. The Lost Man is an Outback Queensland murder mystery… or is it?

Hope 103.2 is proudly supported by

Also, to top the episode off, Katrina and Natasha divulge some highly personal information – their fictional crushes! That’s all in this fiction episode of the Hope Book Club…

“Because life’s just better with a book!”